TACLOBAN CITY – Lara Samar, Kadiwata Rock Island Experience, and Uswag Artesano were recognized in the first Philippines Creative Tourism Awards 2023, the three-day inaugural edition of the Philippine Creative Tourism Congress (PCTC).

The three were nominated via the Creative Tourism Network website in two of the six categories of the Philippines Creative Tourism Awards 2023.

Kandiwata placed 2nd in the Best Creative Destination category while Lara and Uswag placed sixth place under the Best Creative Experience.

Created by the Creative Tourism Network®, the Philippines Creative Tourism Awards 2023 recognizes initiatives and destinations worldwide that promote innovative and sustainable tourism practices.

Celebrating authenticity, creativity, and the involvement of locals and tourists in co-creating exceptional experiences.

Department of Tourism Secretary Christina Garcia Frasco handed the recognition to the winners during the event held in Bacolod City last December 6.

Sec. Frasco, in her message, hailed ‘Creative Tourism’ as the catalyst for a new era in travel, saying it is an innovative approach involving tourists and local communities in crafting unique and immersive travel experiences – a concept centered on co-creation noting that the first PCTC is aligned with the administration of Pres. Marcos, Jr.’s vision for the tourism sector to play an invaluable role in the promotion of the Filipino brand.

She added that the PCTC 2023 represents a cornerstone in the DOT’s commitment in amplifying the cultural richness and creative prowess of the Philippines on the global stage.
The holding of the event is in keeping of Republic Act 11904, also known as the Philippine Creative Industries Act of 2022 (PCIDA), which advocates for the establishment of the Philippine Creative Industries Development Council (PCIDC) where DOT seats as an ex-officio member of this council.

The law stands as a beacon for fostering the creative industries and mandates the safeguarding and fortification of the rights and capacities of creative firms, creators, and stakeholders in the country. (ROEL T. AMAZONA)