TACLOBAN CITY-A student from Samar College Inc. in Catbalogan City bagged gold in an international math competition held in Hong Kong.
Mark Christian Mendoza, 10-year old Grade V pupil of Samar College is one of the two students from the region who joined the Philippine Team at the Hong Kong International Mathematical Olympiad (HKIMO) held from August 30 to September 3, this year.
Mendoza is one of the seven students from the Philippines who won gold medal at the Primary 4 category competing with other students from other countries .
He also landed as one of the top 10 in the category of the said competition and he will be competing in Tokyo, Japan this December for the World International Mathematical Olympiad.
All in all, the Philippines brought home 47 gold, 81 silver, and 92 bronze medals.
Emil Medice Fernando, Mendoza’s tutor and chaperon, said that this is the second time that his young ward joined in an international math competition.
“It is his second time to join in an international math Olympiad. The first one was in Singapore last July 2019 and he was a silver medalist and this in Hong Kong last August 30 to Sept 3 and he was a gold medalist,” Fernando said.
“Before joining international math Olympiad contest, he must first participate in Mathematics Training Guild (MTG) and should have an excellent score in the preliminary exam,” Fernando added.
HKIMO is an annual international Olympiad competition organized by the Olympiad Education from Hong Kong and is developed by former Hong Kong Mathematical Olympiad team leader, Wong Tin Chun.
HKIMO aims to create a platform for all math enthusiasts around the world to come together for an educational and cultural exchange and to foster students’ interest in Mathematical Olympiad and to promote Mathematical Olympiad all over the world.
This year, 21 countries participated in the competition,namely, Indonesia, Bulgaria, Malaysia, Myanmar, Taiwan, Thailand, Hong Kong, Kyrgyzstan, Philippines, India, Australia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Cambodia, Vietnam, Singapore, China, Iran, Sri Lanka, Laos and Bangladesh.