TACLOBAN CITY– Four government workers who died while on duty during the onslaught of supertyphoon Yolanda were honored by the Civil Service Commission.
Recognized by the commission in simple rites held last April 14 were Salvacion Avestruz of the Philippine Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) and three firemen from Tanauan, Leyte .
The firemen recognized for their bravery were FO2 Rolando Cinco; FO2 Melquiades Baguio and FO1 Felix Miranda.
CSC Regional Director Victoria Esber said that the four government workers deserved to be given honor as they died while they were in service at the height of supertyphoon Yolanda.
The families of the four deceased public servants received a citation, cash reward of P100,000 each, and scholarships in state universities and colleges for their dependents.
Avestruz is still missing, while the three firemen were rescuing the residents of Barangay Calogcog in Tanauan early morning of November 8, 2013, died when the fire track they were on board was swept away by the storm surge generated by Yolanda.
“This is a tribute to the men and women in the government workforce, who died while in the performance of their duties,” Esber added.
She said that the Pamanang Lingkod Bayani (PLBi) Executive Committee has initially selected four beneficiaries in the region. There were eight others who were selected from other disaster hit provinces.
The others who died in service, but lack the necessary documents, will be honored in another date and venue, Esber said.
The CSC Resolution No. 1302553, promulgated on November 29, 2013, provides for the guidelines on the giving of tribute to government officials and employees who were killed in line of duty or those who died while in the performance of their official duties. (VICKY C. ARNAIZ)