Dolores town in East Samar as the venue

TACLOBAN CITY– The 35-strong Sto. Nino SPED Center delegation, this city, has joined several hundred other school journalists to compete in the Regional School Press Conference (RSPC) from May 31 to June 2, 2023 at the Dolores Central Elementary School in Dolores, Eastern Samar.

Delegates from all city and provincial schools’ divisions in Eastern Visayas will converge in the municipality for the three-day event.

Led by SNSC Campus Journalism Coordinator Raymond Remandaban, along with six other teachers and coaches of the student journalists, the 35-strong delegation will be competing in all categories such as news writing, editorial writing, cartoon journalism, photojournalism, broadcasting, desktop publishing, layouting, column writing, and others.
SNSC school principal Mary Ann Nalda commended the SNSC delegation after the group won and bagged top awards during the division level competitions.

“We are hopeful that aside from the fun and invaluable learnings the pupils will get from the experience, our students are prepared to bring home the bacon,” she said.
“The SNSC group will join the Tacloban City Division delegation, and they are eager to showcase their journalistic skills and compete against other talented young journalists from all over Eastern Visayas,” Nalda added.

The Sto Nino SPED SPTA officials likewise extended their full support to the delegation. “We are confident our students will proudly represent the school and the entire Tacloban division,” SPTA president Joeme Rodriguez said.

The RSPC is an important platform for young journalists to hone their skills and showcase their talents. It also provides an opportunity for students to learn from each other, exchange ideas, and develop their creativity.

Remandaban said their delegation is excited to be a part of this event and is looking forward to representing SNSC and the Tacloban city division.

Key guests of the conference include 4Ps party-list Representative Marcelino Libanan, Dolores Mayor Rodrigo Rivera, and officials of the Department of Education (DepEd).