TACLOBAN CITY– About 33 local government units (LGUs) from the region made it to the list and passed the seal of good local governance (SGLG) for this year.

The awardees include four provinces, two cities, and 27 municipalities, the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) said.

The SGLG is an award, incentive, honor, and recognition-based program awarded by DILG to LGUs that exhibit outstanding governance and delivery of public service using certain parameters.

For this year, the provinces recognized by DILG were Biliran, Leyte, Samar, and Northern Samar while in the city category, Maasin and Ormoc.

The municipalities accorded of SGLG were Almeria, Cabucgayan, and Kawayan, all in Biliran; Albuera, Barugo, Kananga, San Miguel, and Tabontabon, all in Leyte; Hinunangan Libagon, Liloan, Macrohon, Padre Burgos, San Juan, Silago, Sogod and St. Bernard, Southern Leyte.

In Samar, the towns of Basey, Jiabong, and Motiong were awarded while in Eastern Samar were Arteche, Quinapondan, and Sulat. In Northern Samar, the municipalities of Catarman, Laoang, San Antonio, and San Roque were recognized by the DILG.

Overall, there are 493 LGUs in the country which received the seal. The awarding will be on December 13 and 14, 2023. (LIZBETH ANN A ABELLA)