TACLOBAN CITY- The provinces of Samar Island were rocked by earthquakes on Sunday night though the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) announced of no damages or aftershocks due to these jolts.
The first earthquake to hit the Samar Island was in Northern Samar province with the epicenter recorded in Allen town at about 7:24 pm.
Based on the monitoring of Phivolcs, the tremor had a magnitude of 2.5 and was of tectonic in origin with a depth of focus at about 065 kilometers.
Another quake was felt in Samar Island, this time in Samar province with the town of Basey as its epicenter.
It had a magnitude of 2.3 and of tectonic in origin with a depth focus of 160 kms.
The last tremor recorded in the island was in Eastern Samar.
The 10:53 pm was traced to have an epicenter in San Julian town with a magnitude of 4.1 and a depth focus of 033 kms.
The quake was felt in the town at Intensity IV; Intensity III in Sulat town, also in Eastern Samar; Intensity II in Catbalogan City and in the towns of Jiabong, both in Samar, and Taft in Eastern Samar; and Intensity I in San Jose de Buan town, Samar.
Phivolcs said that they did not monitor any damages or aftershocks due to the tremors.