TACLOBAN CITY– The cities of Ormoc, Maasin, and Tacloban, and 12 other towns in the region were among this year’s Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) awardees.
Ormoc City Mayor Lucy Torres Gomez said that they are happy that the city was included among the roster of winners of this award annually bestowed by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

“The award, which is considered as the most prestigious, is an indication that Ormoc City is superb in her services and functions… With this accolade, the City of Ormoc will be even more motivated to deliver the best services to all Ormocanons and to uphold this motto every single day: The best is yet to come,” she said in a statement.

What made the award more memorable is it was received by the city as it celebrated its 75th founding anniversary as a chartered city.

Maasin City Mayor Nacional Mercado also expressed his elation.

“It is truly an honor to be chosen as one of the few, at least to be validated for our Seal of Good Local Governance,” he said.

The city has now four SGLG awards.

Municipalities of Eastern Visayas that are also recipients of the SGLG awards are Quinapondan, Eastern Samar; Barugo, Leyte; Jiabong, Samar; Paranas, Samar; Bontoc, Southern Leyte; Hinunangan, Southern Leyte; Liloan, Southern Leyte; Macrohon, Southern Leyte; Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte; Sogod, Southern Leyte; St. Bernard, Southern Leyte; and Tomas Oppus, Southern Leyte.

“May you all continue to strive for exemplary performance, trailblazing innovations and meritorious achievements towards excellence in governance,” the regional DILG, in a statement, said.

To receive the SGLSG award, a local government unit needs to pass all 10 governance areas, namely, financial administration and sustainability; disaster preparedness; social protection and sensitivity; safety, peace and order; health compliance and responsiveness; sustainable education; business friendliness and competitiveness; environmental management; tourism, heritage development, culture and the arts; and youth development.