Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla swears into office Palo Councilor Chiqui Ruth Uy as the new president of the 400-strong Philippine Councilors League (PCL)-Leyte Chapter on August 9.
(Photo Courtesy)

TACLOBAN CITY- The more than 400 members Philippine Councilors League (PCL)-Leyte chapter elected a neophyte councilor from Palo town.
Elected unanimously by the members was Chiqui Ruth Uy, who is serving her first term as a councilor of Palo and is the wife of former PCL president, Wilson Uy, who was the president of the organization from 2004 until June 30,2019.
Uy was elected unopposed during the PCL elections held last August 9 at the Leyte Academic Center, Palo.
The PCL-Leyte has 412 members but only 336 of them managed to attend the event which was also graced by Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla.
The new provincial PCL president was a former barangay chairwoman of Barangay Pawing, one of the most important villages of Palo town as it is here where the Government Center and the historic MacArthur Landing National Memorial Park are located.
She served as a barangay chairwoman for nine years and also served the Palo Sangguniang Bayan as an ex-officio member being the municipal president of the Association of Barangay Chairmen for five years.
Uy expressed her gratitude to the PCL members in Leyte for giving them their trust and mandate on her as their new president whose term is to expire on 2022.
“I am thankful for the heartfelt support of my co-councilors and for the trust for choosing me as their leader. I would also thank Governor Petilla for his support as well as my husband,” she said as she called her colleagues to give their full support and cooperation on her and other newly-elected officials of the group.
Uy also vowed to listen to her colleagues, especially those who have more experiences compare to her.
According to her, she intend to accomplish several projects and programs that are all aim in improving the capabilities of the councilors of the province.
Among these are continuous trainings and seminars for all councilors to make them more competent in discharging their functions to the benefits of their respective constituents.
Also elected were Hilongos Councilor Edwin Faller, vice president; Tolosa Councilor Manny Martinez, secretary- general; Tanauan Councilor Bianito Fiel, treasurer; Burauen Councilor Vincent Enerlan, auditor; Leyte-Leyte Councilor Pedro Panis, PRO; and Kananga Councilor Resurection Capanas, business manager.
Elected as members of the board of directors were the following: Rosary Pearl Catudo (Babatngon) and Rodolfo Cabaluna Jr. (Alangalang) representing first district; Othello Crisostomo (Carigara) and Victor Cadyong (Dulag), for the second district; Carmichael Villarino (San Isidro), for third district; Adam Fuentes (Isabel) for fourth district; and Arnulfo Allera (Abuyog) and Rogelio Pua Jr. (Inopacan) for the fifth district. (JOEY A. GABIETA/LIZBETH ANN A. ABELLA)