TACLOBAN CITY-The Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA-8) conducted a scholar’s orientation and held a memorandum of agreement signing to the newly-admitted scholars for Education for Development Scholarship Program (EDSP), OFW Dependent Scholarship Program (ODSP), and Education and Livelihood Assistance Program for the School Year 2018-2019.
A total of 130 scholars – 95 ODSP scholars, 15 EDSP scholars and 20 ELAP scholars – gathered at Ritz Tower de Leyte last October 29, 2018 for the said activities along with their parents and guardians.
The orientation and MOA signing was conducted in two batches due to the large numbers of newly admitted scholars for this school year, ODSP scholars from the provinces of Southern Leyte, Biliran, Samar, Eastern Samar and Northern Samar joined the first batch of the orientation in the morning whilst ODSP scholars from Leyte, the EDSP scholars and ELAP scholars were the one present in the afternoon session.
OIC Regional Director, Juliet Z. Tan, delivered the opening remarks to welcome and congratulate the present scholars and parents.
She gave encouraging words to the students and prompted them to always strive to reach their goal – to finish their studies.
She assured them that OWWA will be at their side in their journey of reaching this goal. Finally, she encourage them to listen carefully in the orientation and not to hesitate to raise their concerns and clarifications during the orientation.
Salient points contained in the scholarship agreement were discussed during the orientation.
The activity concluded with the signing of the memorandum of agreement between OWWA, the scholar and the parent.
EDSP scholars receive P60,000 financial assistance per school year, while ODSP scholars receive P20,000 and ELAP scholars receive P10,000 for college students, P8,000 for high school students and P5,000 for elementary pupils. OWWA accepts application for the different scholarship program two months prior the start of every school year.