TACLOBAN CITY- A total of 53 sports scholars of the Leyte Sports Academy (LSA) will be joining the Leyte Division delegation for this year’s Eastern Visayas Regional Athletics Association (EVRAA) in Calbayog City.
Of the 53 LSA-scholar athletes, 18 of them will compete in athletics; 16 in wresting; 10 in swimming; four in boxing; three in archery; and two in wushu.
They will join the 634-strong delegation from Leyte, the over-all champions of last year’s EVRAA Meet held in Naval, Biliran.
The provincial government had allocated PP3.5 million assistance to the Department of Education Leyte Division for the participation of all athletes representing the province.
The division won 97 gold; 72 silver and 66 bronze.
The regional sports competition will start this Sunday, February 4 and will end on February 10.
Winners of the competitions will represent the region at the Palarong Pambansa in Ilocos Sur from April 16 to 20.