TACLOBAN CITY– The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has allotted P1.626 billion in its 2023 General Appropriation Act (GAA) to the Leyte Second District Engineering Office (Leyte 2 DEO) for the construction of infrastructure projects for the second district of Leyte.

District Engineer Leo Edward Oppura reported that the allotted budget is composed of 71 projects, of which 9 are now ongoing and the remaining projects are under detailed engineering and pre-construction activities.

“We are targeting to implement all of the projects in the first half of the year. Expanding the road network, connect the by-pass roads, and accelerate the flood control projects to become useful, especially now that the region is experiencing torrential rains,” Oppura added.

These projects consist of preventive maintenance; rehabilitation/reconstruction/upgrading of damaged paved roads; rehabilitation/reconstruction of national roads with slips, slope collapse, and landslides; network development road widening; construction of by-pass and diversion roads; construction of missing links/new roads; retrofitting/strengthening of permanent bridges; construction/maintenance of flood mitigation structures and drainage systems; construction/rehabilitation of flood mitigation facilities within major river basins and principal rivers; and the Basic Infrastructure Program (BIP) – access roads and/or bridges from the national road/s leading to major/strategic public buildings/facilities will generate jobs and increase economic activities.

For CY 2022, DPWH allotted the district office a total of P1.38 billion for its 57 infrastructure projects, of which 47 were completed and 10 are ongoing.

The second congressional district of Leyte is made up of 14 municipalities, comprising La Paz, Julita, Burauen, Dagami, Dulag, Mayorga, Mac Arthur, Jaro, Tunga, Barugo, Capoocan, and Carigara. (LIZBETH ANN A. ABELLA)