TACLOBAN CITY – The regional National Nutrition Council (NNC-8) has lined up month-long activities for the national nutrition month on July According to Dr. Catalino “Kattie” Dotollo Jr., NNC nutrition program coordinator, said that this year’s theme is very timely in the light of frequent and devastating disasters that struck the country and how the families can cope without sacrificing the good nutrition of each one in the communities especially the children. This year’s theme observance is “Kalamidad Paghandaan: Gutom at Malnutrisyon Agapan,” with the celebration now on its 40th year. The month-long activities will start with a healthy walk on July 1 at 6:00 a.m. to start at the Balyuan grounds along Magsaysay Boulevard, this city. The government and private agencies are enjoined to participate in the healthy walk. “We are expecting 300 participants from our partner agencies, the government and the private sectors, the barangay nutrition scholars (BNS), UNICEF and other international humanitarian organizations,” said Dotollo. NNC is the lead agency in the nationwide launching and observance of the National Nutrition Month every July. After the healthy walk, Dotollo said that a short program follows with Tacloban City Mayor Alfred Romualdez as guest of honor. The theme for this year’s celebration will be unveiled by Mayor Romualdez, Dr. Dotollo and Emma Grande of the United Nations International Children’s Fund, the partner humanitarian agency of NNC for the event. There is also an agri-fair which will be open to the public. Among the month-long activities are symposium: Nutrition in Emergency Preparedness; government agency-hopping for nutrition counseling; cooking contest with recipe for cooking contest; Barangay Nutrition Scholars in Action (audio-visual presentation how the BNS responded in the aftermath of Yolanda) and culminates with the Nutrition Summit to be hosted by the UNICEF. The National Nutrition Month is observes pursuant to Presidential Decree 49 or the National Nutrition Act of the Philippines, signed on June 25, 1974. (VICKY C. ARNAIZ)