TACLOBAN CITY- Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla encouraged officials of the province to maintain their drug-cleared status as declared by the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA).
Gov.Petilla was referring to the city of Baybay abd 24 towns in the province earlier declared by PDEA as drug-cleared.
Petilla said that maintaining the status could prove to be a big challenge to these local government units.
Based on the records of the regional PDEA office, the drug-free cleared city and towns in Leyte are Baybay City, Mahaplag, San Isidro, Matag-ob, Tunga, Tabango, Capoocan, Jaro, Sta. Fe, Matalom, Hindang, Babatngon, Villaba, Inopacan, Hilongos, Javier, Barugo, San Miguel, Mayorga, Tolosa, Pastrana, Alang-alang, La Paz, Palompon and Carigara.
Tacloban City, a highly-urbanized city which is not part of the administrative control of the provincial government, has also been declared as a drug-cleared city by PDEA.