Sangyaw Festival Parade of Lights

TACLOBAN CITY – The float of the Tacloban Angelicum Learning Center bested 13 other contingents as the best float in this year’s Sangyaw Festival 2024 Parade of Lights.
Angelicum Learning Center won P500,000 for winning the award held on the night of June 29.

Kasirangan Festival Dancers Metro Tacloban (KFDMT) bagged 2nd place and received P300,000 while Barangay 37 Sea Wall was adjudged as 3rd place winner and received P200,000.

Best Festival Drama was won by the Sagkahan National High School, winning P200,000. They also won Best in Music and won P30,000 and another P10,000 for best in costume award.

Area 3, San Jose, on 2nd place and won P150,000, while Barangay 31 Pampango, in 3rd place winning P100,000.

Kasirangan Festival Dancers Metro Tacloban (KFDMT) won the Best in Parade and won P30,000.

Taebo Jammers Association of Tacloban won the best in merry making with The Gorabels Taebo Jammers in second place, and Tingog Fitness Club in second place.

The Sangyaw Parade of Lights 2024 was joined Tacloban City Mayor Alfred Romualdez and his son, Raymund Romualdez who is the Association of Barangay Chairmen Tacloban Chapter president who was with Philippine National Police Chief General Rommel Francisco Marbil in the city government float.

Speaker Ferdinand Martin Romualdez along with Tingog party-list Reps.Yedda Romualdez and Jude Acidre also joined the parade in a separate float.

The dance-drama-float competition is a presentation with storified dances and reenactments of the 1889 miraculous return of the lost image of Sto. Niño (El Capitan) to Tacloban.

This year’s Sangyaw Festival marks the second year of strict implementation of guidelines, particularly in portraying the “An Paghibalik Han Señor Santo Niño El Capitan,” which is divided into four acts: An Pag-ayad, Kataragman, An Paghitad-i, and An Paghibalik.

The script, written by Joycie Alegre and Samlito Abueva, features consultation from Msgr. Ramon Stephen Aguilos and Msgr. Gilbert Urbina.