TACLOBAN CITY – The Federation of Filipino-Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (FFCCCII) and the Tacloban Filipino-Chinese Chamber of Commerce, Inc.(TFCCCI) turned over to the Department of Education (Deped)six new classrooms last May 19. The recipient schools were the Northern Tacloban City National High School (NTCNHS) in Barangay New Kawayan and Sto. Niño Elementary School (SNES) in Brgy.Sto. Niño. The NTCNHS received one-unit school building with two classrooms and two toilets while SNES got one-unit school building with four classrooms and also two toilets. The two schools were chosen by its donors Rotary Club of Chinatown Manila District 3810 because of the extent of the damages they sustained during the onslaught of supertyphoon Yolanda more than six months ago. Welcoming the team from the Rotary Club were Go Tic Ching and Reynaldo Go, president and treasurer of TFCCCI respectively and Tacloban City Vice Mayor Jerry “Sambo” Yaokasin. Donation of school buildings is a major undertaking of the FFCCCII under the “Operation Barrio Schools” Projects since the mid-part of 1960’s. All the elected officers of the federation and its umbrella organizations in the different parts of the country are encouraged to donate school classrooms as their corporate social responsibilities. This year’s president of FFCCCII is Dr. Alfonso Siy. The federation has already donation more than 10,000 classrooms all over the Philippines in order to fill in the gap of the government’s education program. Among the federation officials who joined the activities were Ang Cho Lim, vice president of welfare committee; Joseph Redulla, director of welfare committee; Andrew Co, vice chairman of youth committee and project coordinators Carlos Legaspi and Jemar Pascual. The regular size of the one-unit two-classrooms school building is 49-square meters with provision for two toilets and with a time-frame to construct within 20 working-days at a cost of P370,000 to P400,000 depending on the location in the remote areas. The Rotary Club of Chinatown Manila District will be led by its first class president Zeni Yao and District governor Karen L. Tama. (VICKY C. ARNAIZ)