TACLOBAN CITY– Lawyer Joseph “Boboy” Escalona was recently inducted as president of the Rotary Club of Tacloban (RC Tacloban) for the ensuring year, during its 67th anniversary celebration at Leyte Park Resort Hotel recently.

Escalona said that he is happy for the trust and confidence the Rotarians have given him to lead the RC Tacloban, the mother of five clubs in the city. He replaced businessman Joel Caminade as the president of the club. “The club has a huge task ahead of helping our fellow survivors in the community better their lives after supertyphoon Yolanda even as the club members are still rebuilding our lives too after the devastation,” Escalona said in an interview.

Escalona added that “the five avenues of service of the Rotary will be my guide throughout my term.” Incoming district governor Salvador “Buddy” Estudillo of District 3860 was the inducting officer who heaped praises to the new club president. Estudillo said that Escalona will be a good president to lead the club adding that he has the high esteem and support of the members. The projects the club will undertake this year will be water and sanitation, computer literacy, infant food, schools rehabilitation and livelihood, Escalona said.
Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominic Petilla was the keynote speaker.

The past months have been very busy for the Rotary Club of Tacloban after Yolanda struck the city of Tacloban and the rest of Eastern Visayas. The club has completed the construction of a one-unit school building with two classrooms and toilets at Marabaras National High School in partnership with the Rotary Club (RC) Nara East, Japan District 2650.

Another partnership with RC Naga City District 3820 is for distribution of 15 pedicabs under its livelihood program intended for residents of Peerless Village, one of the hardest hit villages in Tacloban. Villages in San Jose district or V&G village are also to receive the same assistance from the club. Also elected were vice president Jop Cornelio; secretary Noli Beltran; treasurer Junn Cayubit; sergeant-at-arms Adel Bautista. Named as directors were Jose Julio for community service; Ben Gaspay for international service; Lito Yap for club administration and Eugene Tan for vocational service. ((VICKY C. ARNAIZ)