TACLOBAN CITY- Luck finally smiled to a candidate for chairman here in the city on his third try and to add more drama, via drawing of lots.
Judy Trinidad, a retired policeman, finally became the chairman of Barangay 52 in Magallanes District as he was proclaimed as the winner on Wednesday (May 16) noon by the three-member board of canvassers at San Fernando Central School.
Trinidad and the incumbent chairman, Noel Martinez both garnered the same votes of 328, thus the need to break the tie.
Martinez, the long-time serving chairman of Brgy.52, has defeated Trinidad the past barangay elections.
During the 2013 barangay elections, Martinez won over Trinidad by just a mere seven votes.
“I am really overwhelmed. I cannot contain my emotions that finally I am now the chairman of our barangay,” the 61-year old Trinidad said, holding back his tears.
Martinez tried to control his emotions as he said that he accepted the result of the draw.
“I lost,” he said after opening the folded white paper he picked. “I respect the outcome. No hard feelings,” Martinez said.
The folded paper states “winner” which Trinidad was able to pick.
The drawing of the lots was witnessed by the two contenders’ families and supporters and elections officials led by Comelec Regional Director Jose Nick Mendros.
Both Trinidad and Martinez embraced each other after they drew the lots.
Both called their respective supporters to respect the decision and worked for the betterment of their village.
But while Martinez lost the chairmanship, five of his candidates for council seats won while only two and the Sangguniang Kabataan chair won from the camp of Trinidad.
Trinidad was the last barangay chairman in the city who won the May 14 elections to be proclaimed.
Records from the Barangay Affairs Office disclosed that Tacloban has 57 new barangay chairmen while 81 others won on their re-election bids.
Hermilo Naputo, Jr., head of the said office, said that all the barangay officials who received fresh mandates from their respective constituents are to take their oaths on June 30, coinciding the city’s annual fiesta.
“Mayor (Cristina) Romualdez will administer their oath of office to be held at the astrodome,” he said.
They are to assume their posts on July 1 and to end their terms by 2020.
It was learned from Naputo that a barangay chairman in the city receives a monthly honorarium ranging from over P4,000 up to P21,000.
While the councilors receives from P3,000 up to P15, 000.
A Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) chairman as well as the treasurer and secretary receives a monthly honorarium equivalent to that of a barangay councilor.
The monthly honorarium of the barangay officials depends on their local income.