MAASIN CITY- The Department of Public Works and Highways Southern Leyte District Engineering Office (DPWH-SLDEO) has been listed as one of the country’s top performing offices in the usage of the Project Contract Management Application (PCMA).
With a score of 86.14 percent as of end of November 2016, the SLDEO ranked first in Eastern Visayas region and 20th nationwide in terms of PCMA use.
There are 234 DPWH district offices in the country.
“This is something that we should be happy about because PCMA was just adapted in the district this quarter and yet we’re able to make it to the best of 20 district offices,” said District Engineer Ma. Margarita Junia.
The PCMA replaces the modernized project monitoring system used to check projects from 2015 and prior years.
“Aside from improved monitoring of project contracts, the new system also aims to achieve transparency since project updates can be viewed online,” Junia added.
The PCMA include data quality and internal control features to prevent basic data problems from occurring, immediately highlighting the error and preventing data entry until corrected.
“After a project engineer encodes updates, there’s no way for them to manipulate the information since the database is centralized,” she added.
Through the PCMA, the public can verify the data available online and actual physical accomplishments of project on sites, according to DPWH.
The PCMA utilizes the new project identification and project component identification structure in the multi-year programming and scheduling application.
The application adheres to the new way of project identification with monitoring of physical accomplishments will be by project, project component, and contract.
Under the 2016 infrastructure projects based on National Expenditure Program, the district office has P1 billion worth of infrastructure projects this year.
Other district offices tagged as excellent in PCMA usage are located in the provinces of Lanao del Norte, Misamis Oriental, Bohol, Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro City, Pangasinan, Camarines Sur, Isabela, Tarlac, Cebu, Quirino, Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Cotabato, Sarangani, Cagayan, and Surigao. (PR)