TACLOBAN CITY- The Sangguniang Panglungsod of Tacloban was awarded by the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) and the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) as a national finalist in the 2018 Loacal Legislative Award in the highly-urbanized cities category held at the Waterfront Hotel, Cebu City on Wednesday(June 19).
Vice Mayor Jerry ‘Sambo’ Yaokasin, presiding officer of the council, said that the award only shows that when a council work hard and work together for the common good and setting aside personal interests and seeking common ground in spite of political differences, a council can achieve great things for the city and its people.
Yaokasin added that the award will serve as an inspiration to them to come up with pieces of legislation that will redound to the benefits of the Taclobanons and to better and improve their performance as the legislative arm of the city government.
The said award recognizes the exemplary performance of the council for legislating measures that help build the foundation of meaningful local administration and development.
The Sangguniang Panglungsod of Tacloban has enacted ordinances and resolutions that contributed to the attainment of desirable socio-economic and environmental outcomes, Yaokasin said.
At present, the city council is composed, aside from Yaokasin, Councilors Edwin Chua, Jerry Uy, Maria Elvira Casal, Frederick Chua, Willy Domingo, Evangeline Esperas, Aimee Grafil, Rachelle Erica Pineda, Raissa Villasin, Jose Marie Bagulaya, with ex-officio members Eden Pineda, president of the Association of Barangay Chairmen, and Thomas John Moreno Diaz, Sangguniang Kabataan city federation president.