PALUGAW NG PULIS. Students of a daycare center in Barangay San Vicente, Quinapondan, Eastern Samar enjoyed the ‘palugaw’ from the police personnel of Quinapondan. The program aims to help improve the health and nutritional condition of every student.(QUINAPONDAN MPS HR SECTION)

Issued by Malacañang

TACLOBAN CITY-Commissioner Aldrin Darilag of the Commission on Higher Education (ChEd) said that he was surprised on the preventive suspension order issued by Malacañang against him.

Darilag, who sits as chairman of five state universities in Eastern Visayas, said that he was not even aware of the facts of the 90-day suspension order issued against him.

“I have no full information about the cases filed against me. I did not receive a copy of the complaint. This is so unfair for me,” he said on Sunday (Jan.21) in an interview via Facebook’s private messenger.

Over the weekend, ChEd chairman Prospero De Vera III announced that Malacañang has slapped Darilag a 90-day preventive suspension order for his alleged grave misconduct, neglect in the performance of duty, abuse of authority, and violation of RA 3019, otherwise known as the Anti- Graft and Corrupt Practices Act.

The order from the Office of the President was issued on Jan.16 and signed by Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin.

It was learned that the preventive suspension order would be served to Darilag on Monday (Jan.22) who was appointed as ChEd commissioner in 2019 but was reappointed in 2020.
His term is to end this July.

Darilag defended himself by saying he never committed any acts that were attributed to him.

“I never done any acts that could harm the commission. All my SUC presidents can testify that I work well. Wala akong ginawang kasalanan. Hindi ko maintindihan,” he said.
He hinted that ‘somebody’ could be behind on the complaints filed against him who is interested in his post.

Darilag sits as chairman of the board of the Leyte Normal University in Tacloban City, Leyte; University of Eastern Philippines in Catarman, Northern Samar; Samar State University in Catbalogan City, Samar; Southern Leyte State University in Maasin City, Southern Leyte; and Biliran Province State University in Naval, Biliran.