TACLOBAN CITY- Supporters convened on Tuesday (Dec.5) in Allen, Northern Samar and Ormoc City in Leyte for the “Biyayang Pagbabago” Caravan 2017, drumming up support for the Duterte administration’s poverty alleviation agenda.
In Allen, Northern Samar, Fr. Elmer Cajilig, Visayas co-convenor of Kilusang Pagbabago (KP), arrived at the town’s plaza to meet with a group of supporters.
Cajilig’s group arrived at the town’s port from Luzon Island for the Eastern Visayas leg of the caravan.
KP members signed a manifesto supporting President Rodrigo Duterte’s anti-poverty program through the Office of the Participatory Governance dubbed as “Biyayang Pagbabago”, the Philippine Information Agency reported.
In Ormoc City, KP supporters gathered at the city’s plaza for the caravan Tuesday night.
“We believe that we need a firm leader like President Duterte to bring about positive change in the country,” said Enrico Oliveros, KSP Isabel, Leyte coordinator.
On December 1, the Office of the Cabinet Secretary, in partnership with 12 agencies under the Office of the President alongside Kilusang Pagbabago, initiated the “Biyayang Pagbabago Tungo sa Masagana at Matiwasay na Buhay Pilipino” (Biyayang Pagbabago) Program, which aims to provide better living conditions for Filipinos.
The nationwide caravan commenced in Luzon, starting from Ifugao province, all the way to Nueva Vizcaya, Pangasinan, Bulacan, Parañaque, Cavite, Batangas, Quezon, Marinduque, and Camarines Sur.
After which, selected participants proceeded to Northern Samar and Ormoc City on Tuesday.
On Wednesday (Dec.6), the group proceeded to Cebu City, Cagayan de Oro City and Bukidnon province in Mindanao.
The caravan will culminate in Davao City on December 9, where President Duterte is expected to formally launch the “Biyayang Pagbabago” program at the city’s Freedom Park.
Participating agencies for the “Biyayang Pagbabago” include the Cooperative Development Authority, Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council, National Anti-Poverty Commission, National Commission on Indigenous Peoples, National Commission on Muslim Filipinos, National Food Authority, National Youth Commission, Presidential Action Center, Philippine Commission on Women, Philippine Coconut Authority, Presidential Commission for the Urban Poor, and Technical Education and Skills Development Authority. (SARWELL Q. MENIANIO/JOSEPH PILAPIL/PNA)