In Northern Samar

MUTYA SA IBABAO 2023. Meg Ymata Di(center) of Lavezares was named as the Mutya sa Ibabao 2023 during the coronation on Saturday(June 17). Her court includes Emeliene Marie Rubenecia of Catarman and Kethleen Esquillo of Bobon who were adjudged as first and second runner-ups, respectively. (PHOTO COURTESY)

CATARMAN, Northern Samar – The candidate from the town of Lavezares, Meg Ymata Di, was crowned as the first Mutya sa Ibabao in the pageant held Saturday (June 17) evening.

The Mutya San Ibabao is a rebranding of the previous beauty pageant, Miss Northern Samar, and was held to a sell-out crowd at the provincial covered court here.
Di, 19, a 2nd year BS Nursing student bested 19 other candidates who represented their respective towns at the provincial pageant.

Di also received two major awards, best in swimsuit and best in evening gown.
Governor Edwin Ongchuan crowned the new queen and also awarded her a cash prize worth P150,000.

Catarman’s bet, Emeliene Marie Rubenecia, placed first runner-up while the candidate from Bobon, Kathleen Esquillo, placed second runner-up.

The two beauty queens also received P100,000 and P75,000 cash prizes respectively.
Winners of special awards include Jayrene Zyrette Ibañez of San Vicente winning the Miss Congeniality award, and Jasmine Rose Robiños of Laoang who bagged the Miss Photogenic and the Best in Philippine Terno award.

Miss Laoang’s Philippine Terno designer, her fellow Laoangon Nilo Giray, received a cash prize of P10,000 from the province and another P15,000 from internationally acclaimed designer Puey Quiñones a one-year contract, allowance and board and lodging.