TACLOBAN CITY-Some 14 barangay chairmen and representatives from Area 3 barangays committed on Thursday, February 9, to support the solid waste management program of the city government.

During the meeting held at the City Engineer’s Office (CEO) Conference Room, City Environment and Natural Resources Officer (CENRO) Jonathan R. Hijada presented the SWM initiatives that will be piloted in the following barangays: 79, 81, 82, 83, 83-B, 83-C, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, and 83-A.

The initiatives include the daily collection of trash in said barangay, which is scheduled as follows: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday for biodegradable (madurunot) wastes; Tuesday for recyclable (mabaraligya) garbage; and Thursday for residual (igharapil) trash.
As agreed during the meeting, the daily collection of garbage, based on the schedule, will commence on Friday, February 10, 2023.

A no-collection policy for unsegregated waste was also decided during the meeting to compel the residents of said barangays to sort out their trash as mandated by the city ordinance and RA 9003, s. 2000, which identifies the LGU as the primary responsible for the implementation of the Solid Waste Management Act of 2000.

On December 1, 2022, the Department of Interior and Local Government issued a regional memorandum reiterating the strict implementation of said laws, among other measures in LGUs (including barangay LGUs).

The gathering also highlighted the commitment signed by the barangay officials as an indication of their strong support for the clean and green efforts of the local government unit.

Barangay 85 San Jose Chairman Salvador Santiago welcomed the development, saying it would be good for the barangays and communities as a whole.

“Maupay gud ine para hiton syudad, para hiton aton health ngan kalibungan. Magigin trabaho ine hit City ngan barangay, upod an komunidad. Dire ine para ha iba nga tawo kundi para ha aton amo nga magburublig kita,” he said.

Also present during the meeting were representatives from the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) and the Environmental Management Bureau.