MAASIN CITY – At least 47 new school buildings will greet students in Southern Leyte during the opening of new academic year on Monday(June 4) built by the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) under the 2017 Basic Educational Facilities Fund.
The school buildings have 96 classrooms with upgraded design enough to withstand destructive typhoons and earthquake.
“Eastern Visayas is very vulnerable to natural calamities. We need classrooms like these that can be converted into an evacuation center during extreme weather events,” said DPWH Southern Leyte chief Ma. Margarita Junia.
The structural components of these school facilities such as footing, column, and beam were improved based on the upgraded design agreed by DPWH and the Department of Education (DepEd).
Of the 47 school buildings, seven are in Maasin City, five each in Bontoc, Hinundayan, and St. Bernard, four in Silago towns, three each in Padre Burgos, San Francisco, and Sogod towns, two each in Limasawa, Malitbog, and Hinunangan towns, and one each in Liloan, Macrohon, Tomas Oppus, Pintuyan, Anahawan, and Libagon towns.
The construction of these school buildings started in the fourth quarter of last year with a funding of P143.6 million.
Overall, the 2017 school building projects for Southern Leyte has a total P1.21 billion covering the construction of classrooms and technical vocational laboratories. (PR)