WINNERS. Tacloban City Mayor Alfred Romualdez extends his congratulations to campus journalists from the city who won awards during the recently-concluded national schools press conference held in Cagayan de Oro City. Among the awards received by the budding journalist was the most outstanding campus journalist Joy Grace Villasoto of Sto. Nino SPED Center. (TCIO)

TACLOBAN CITY-Student journalists along with their mentors visited City Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez last August 10 after their successful stint at the recently concluded national schools press conference 2023 at Cagayan de Oro City last July 17-21.

Among those present were NSPC Most Outstanding Campus Journalist Joy Grace Villasoto of Sto. Niño SPED Center, Don Bernard Gapasin of Sagkahan National High School who earned the Most Outstanding School Paper Adviser, 5th Placer Feature Writing (English) Ces Hera G. Suarez of STEFTI with Coach Eric Dagami, 5th Placer Collaborative Desktop Publishing- Leyte National High School Team with Coach Shermin Olimpo.

Also in attendance are Campus Journalism Coordinators namely: Annie Pagatpat (English Coordinator), Ronald Llaneta (Filipino Coordinator), and Raymond Remandaban (President of the Reg’l School Paper Advisers’ Association).

The National Schools Press Conference is an annual competition for campus journalists pursuant to Republic Act 7079 or the Campus Journalism Act of 1991. It aims to protect press freedom and promote the development and growth of campus journalism.