TACLOBAN CITY – At least 20 business establishments operating here in the city were awarded as top taxpayers.

The giving of awards to these establishments was among the highlights during the 15th year anniversary of Tacloban as a highly urbanized city on December 18.

Leading the 2023 outstanding real property taxpayers of Tacloban for the commercial land category are Robinsons Land Corporation, Heva Management and Development Corp., Metro Retail Store Group, Inc., and SM Prime Holdings.

For the industrial, hospital, residential, and agricultural categories recognized taxpayers are Coca-Cola Beverages Phils., Inc., Petron Corporation, Allied Care Experts Medical Center, Inno Giolan D. Zilmar, San Juanico Park Golf and Country Club, Inc., and Wayne Builders Unltd.

For the top 10 businesses operating in the city, awarded are Metro Retail Stores Group, Inc., Sanford Marketing Corporation, Toyota Tacloban Leyte, Inc., First Pacific Fortune Commercial Corp., and Citi Hardware Gensan, Inc. for the corporation category.

Meanwhile, the single proprietor category included Caroline Lee Andrade, Albert Cu, Jimmy Chu Mañas, Jaypee Go Pormida, and Peter Paul Dy Dominic.

Acting City Treasurer Jennifer Guy led the recognition ceremony along with Business Permit and Licensing Division officer-in-charge Gemafiel Gaspay, who represented Mayor Alfred Romualdez.

During the awarding, Guy acknowledged the role of the taxpayers and the business sector in the development of the city and in ensuring better services and programs for Taclobanons.

Tacloban elevated its status from a component city of Leyte to HUC after it received an overwhelming “yes” vote during the plebiscite held on Dec 18, 2008 separating its political jurisdiction to the province.

Tacloban, the region’s capital, is the lone city in the region with HUC status.