HINUNANGAN, Southern Leyte– A total of 29,149 residents including 4,759 agrarian reform beneficiaries (ARBs) from the Hinunangan agrarian reform community (ARC) from this town will now have easier access to transport their agricultural products to the nearest markets, with the completion of the P8.5-million bridge under the ‘Tulay ng Pangulo Para sa Kaunlarang Pang-Agraryo (TPKP)’ project.

Agrarian Reform Secretary Conrado Estrella III leads the inauguration and turnover of the P9.1 million 28 linear-meter Tulay ng Pangulo in Balangiga, Eastern Samar during his recent visit to Eastern Visayas. (JOSE ALSMITH L. SORIA)

The TPKP project is facilitated by the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), in close coordination with the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH).

Victorio Dagohoy, president of Barangay Ilaya Kikoy Farmers Association (BIKFA), expressed his gratitude to the government and said that the newly-constructed bridge would be a big help not only in bringing their products to the market but also during emergency disaster evacuation cases.

“Thank you very much. You can expect that we would take care of this bridge so we can benefit much longer from the project,” Dagohoy said.

Atty. Kazel C. Celeste, DAR Undersecretary for Field Operations Office (FOO), and Rene E. Colocar, Assistant Secretary for Special Projects under the Foreign Assisted and Special Projects Office (FASPO), led the inauguration and turnover of the said bridge to Vice Mayor Marian Donayre-Pelin.

Celeste said that DAR Secretary Conrado Estrella III, will provide more support services to the farmers upon the directive made by President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr.

“The Secretary’s intention is to link the remotest barangays or villages to the town and market proper, so that farmers can feel that they belong and play a big role in nation-building,” Celeste said.

Atty. Robert Anthony P. Yu, DAR Eastern Visayas regional director said the 22.80 linear meters two-lane bridge will benefit 17 barangays and one sitio namely: Calag-itan, Calinao, Catublian, Ilaya, Ingan, Libas, Lumbog, Manlico, Matin-ao, Nava, Nueva Esperanza, Palongpong, Patong, Pondol, Sto, Niño II. Tuburan, Upper Bantawon, and Sitio Tabjon. (PR)