TACLOBAN CITY – The 182 residents of two villages in Catarman, Northern Samar identified as among the town’s “no build zone” areas do not oppose the construction of a flood control.

This was disclosed by the municipal information office of the Catarman municipal government after a hearing on this purpose was conducted.

The affected villages are Narra and Ipil-Ipil, situated along the Maroyondoyon and Kaglangkoy creeks, respectively.

Of the 182 families to be affected by the construction of a flood control system, 161 of them were from Narra while the remaining 21 were from Ipil-Ipil, the information said.
The affected families voiced no opposition to the dredging and flood control project, acknowledging that the area where their houses stand does not belong to them, the information said.

Furthermore, the residents expressed their willingness to vacate the area promptly to facilitate the immediate commencement of the project, which promises town-wide benefits and potential lives saved.

To support the affected residents, Mayor Francisco Aurelio “Antet” Rosales III pledged to donate a property where the affected families can relocate their homes.

Maroyondoyon and Kaglangkoy Creeks traverse five villages – Casoy, Molave, Yakal, Narra, and Ipil-ipil – before draining their waters into the Catarman River.

It was also learned that the amphibious excavator of the Department of Public Work and Highways stands ready for the dredging activities.

However, the agency awaits the certificate of non-coverage (CNC) from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources before commencing operations.

Allocations of P100 million from the provincial government and P50 million from the office of the 1st District Representative Paul Daza have been earmarked for the construction of the flood control project, spanning a length of 1,835 meters, with construction scheduled to commence in October 2024.