TACLOBAN CITY- The Pasaka Festival of Tanauan, Leyte was the overall champion of this year’s Pintados-Kasadyaan Festival of Festivals, besting four other participating cultural festivals.
The Pasaka Festival is a first time winner of the Pintados-Kasadyaan Festival of Festivals, considered as the biggest cultural festival in the region.
Mayor Pelagio Tecson, Jr. received the award from Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla, and Palo Mayor Remedios ‘Matin’ Petilla, chairperson of the festival held at the Leyte Sports Development Center.
Also in attendance were Senator Bam Aquino and former governor and Energy secretary Carlos Jericho Petilla.
As this year’s champion, the Pasaka Festival won P750,000 as it also won special awards for best in dance parade with the prize of P100,000, best in festival music with the prize of P150,000 and the best in festival costume with the prize of P100,000.
The first runner up was the Buraburon Festival of Burauen with the prize of P500,000 while the third runner up was Sanggutan Festival of Barugo with the prize of P250,000.
The Buraburon Festival was the festival’s grand winner last year while the Sanggutan Festival was the 2016 champion.
The three festivals are to join next year’s Aliwan Festival in Manila, said Mayor Petilla.
The Heraite Festival of Leyte town, and Solosogi Festival of Balangiga, Eastern Samar were the other entries in this year’s Pintados-Kasadyaan Festival of Festivals. The two received P50,000 as consolation prizes.
Mayor Petilla said that she was thankful that the overall Pintados-Kasadyaan Festival of Festivals was successful, orderly and peaceful with the security enforced by the police officers from this city, Leyte Police Provincial Office and from the Eastern Visayas Regional Police Office. (ROEL T. AMAZONA/RESTITUTO A. CAYUBIT)