‘Dayaw Awards’ 2023

Governor Edwin Ongchuan

TACLOBAN CITY – The provincial government of Northern Samar has recognized local government units that have exemplary performance in the implementation of the ecological solid waste management.
The Environmental ‘Dayaw Awards’ 2023 is a program of the provincial government giving recognition to local government units that are properly executing solid waste management programs.
Solid waste management is one of the climate change mitigation efforts by reducing plastic waste consumption and enhancing segregation at source in the barangay and municipal level which will help protect and conserve the environment as well as create self-sufficient and climate change-resilient communities.
Dayaw Award is a collaboration of the provincial government together with the Provincial Government Environment and Natural Resources Office (PGENRO), and the League of Environment and Natural Resources Officers.
Governor Edwin Ongchuan was thankful to the leadership of the 24 LGUs in the province and to all municipal environment and natural resources officers (MENRO) for ensuring that the solid waste management programs are properly implemented in their respective areas and in the province.
Under the replicable and regenerative residual waste processing categories, awardees are the local government units of Gamay, Laoang, Palapag, San Antonio, and Victoria.
For the responsive composting facility, the awardees were the municipalities of Palapag, Catarman, San Roque, Laoang, and Victoria.
For the productive materials recovery facility, the awardees were the towns of San Roque, Bobon, Victoria, Allen, Laoang, and Catarman.
For the most improved municipality in ecological solid waste management, the towns of Gamay, Catarman, San Roque, Allen, Laoang, and San Antonio got the citation.
The environmental stewardship awards are given to all 24 LGUs under the province.
Special award was also given to individuals recognizing their contribution and work in the implementation of solid waste management program.
These awardees were Sixto Ano of Palapag as best composting facility manager; Jesus Acebuche, the MENRO of Laoang for the leadership award for best performing MENRO, and posthumous environment service award were given to Maria Luz Doroga-Molato of Catarman, and Nancy Amaro-Evaristo of San Jose. (ROEL T. AMAZONA)