CATARMAN, Northern Samar- Two legislators from this province were elected to the highest positions during the recently concluded 7th Provincial Board Members League of the Philippines (PBMLP) regional elections for Region 8 held on September 5 at the Waterfront Hotel in Cebu City.
Board member Neil “Nonoy” Hernandez (first district) was elected as regional chairman of the PBMLP winning by four votes over Leyte’s first district board member Ranulfo “Bob” Abellanosa.
Hernandez had 37 votes while Abellanosa got 33 votes from fellow board members in the region.
Board member Hazel “Chin” Dela Rosa, also from the first district of this province, won as regional vice chairman with a six-vote margin over Rolando Bacoy of Southern Leyte.
Dela Rosa got 38 votes while Bacoy had 32 votes.
Dela Rosa, a newbie board member, ran under Abellanosa’s line-up.
In their respective Facebook page, both Hernandez and Dela Rosa expressed their gratitude to their fellow provincial legislators from the region for their trust and support in electing them.
Hernandez also extended his thanks to Northern Samar Governor Edwin Ongchuan, and Reps.Paul Daza (1st district) and Jun Ong (2nd district) and former congressman Emil Ong.
The new set of Regional Council officers who will serve until 2022 were the following: Regional Chairman: Neil Hernandez; Regional vice chairman: Hazel Dela Rosa (1st district, Northern Samar); secretary general: Karen Alvarez (Eastern Samar); treasurer: Gina Merilo (1st district, Leyte); auditor: Napoleon Regis (2nd district, So. Leyte); public relations officer: Jerome Arcinal (1st district, Biliran).
Elected as board of directors were Trinidad Apostol(Leyte); Teofisto Roxas(Southern Leyte); Carlos Chan(Biliran); Alvin Abejuela(Samar); and Miguelito Ayong(Samar).