TACLOBAN CITY- Mayor Cristina G. Romualdez bid farewell to her former colleagues of the 12th Sangguniang Panlungsod to take another role as the Chief Executive of Tacloban City during the inaugural session held July 13, 2016 at the session hall of the Legislative Building. Mayor Romualdez, the second lady mayor of Tacloban, told the council that during their 12th Sangguniang sessions, she had fond memories for the last three terms that they were together. With her now sitting as city mayor, as she faces another challenges, she asked them to support her for the interest and benefits of the Taclobanons. Mayor Romualdez asked the council to help her to help her advance all her programs and projects particularly on the aspect of Tacloban recovering fully after it was devastated by supertyphoon “Yolanda” on November 8, 2013.
After her short talk with the council, Mayor Romualdez was bestowed with a certificate of recognition from the Sangguniang members led by Vice Mayor Jerry Yaokasin for her outstanding commitment and tireless support to the city. When she was a council member, Mayor Romualdez served as the chairperson of the committees on finance and appropriation and tourism and cultural affairs. She was also credited for the passing of relevant ordinances and resolutions for the general welfare of the people she served. The current composition of the 13th Sanguniang Panlungsod as headed by Vice Mayor Yaokasin are Councilors Jerry Uy, Edward Frederick Chua, Edwin Chua, Willy Domingo, Eden Pineda, Evangeline Esperas, Rachelle Pineda, Jose Marie Bagulaya, Aimee Grafil, Raissa Villasin and Elvie Casal.(GAY GASPAY)