Carigara celebrates its 448th founding anniversary

CARIGARA, Leyte- As part of the 448th founding anniversary of this town, a number of individuals and groups were awarded of the Datu Gara Awards on January 23.
According to Dale Daniel Bodo, executive assistant of Mayor Eduardo Ong, in- charge of socio-cultural and tourism affairs of Carigara, the Datu Gara Awards is part of the week-long celebration of the town’s 448th founding anniversary dubbed as ‘Magara sa Carigara.’
The awards is the recognition the outstanding contribution of the Kalgaran-ons to the advancement and prestige of the municipality.
Among those recognized were eight employees of the municipal government received loyalty awards for serving the local government unit for more than 25 years.
A former councilor, Anita Villalino, was also recognized by the municipal government while a teacher, Liza Espina, was recognized as the best SPED teacher.
A farmer’s group, Cutay Gudti na Parag-uma, was given recognition as an awardee of the Department of Labor and Employment.
The Fatima Multi-Purpose Cooperative Carigara Cassava Cluster was also honored as it garnered the 2nd runner-up- in the cassava Cluster Management Excellence Award.
Different barangay health stations among them were in Barangay Jugaban having the highest number of blood donors; Brgy. Ponong for achieving 1% of target population of blood donors; Brgy.Guindaponan East as the LGU with highest percentage and one of the highest number of blood donors; and of Brgy. Baruguhay Norte with the highest number of blood donors.
Several barangays were also given award for the outstanding performance of their Lupong Tagapamayapa, namely, Baybay, East Guindapunan, East Visoria, Baruguhay Central and Ponong.
The villages of Baruguhay Central, Tagak, Bagong Lipunan, Ponong, and Parena were given seal of good local governance-barangay level.
The municipal government, under Mayor Eduardo Ong, also bestowed awards to outstanding taxpayers of the town, Shoppers Budget Inc., Leyte-Samar Farmers Center, RAQ Farm Food Corporation, Rodriguez Burger and Bread Corporation Baudillio Sevilla Jao, Honda Motor World, Ramas Uypitcing Sons Inc., Eric Joseph Q. Tolo, LBC Express, Inc., and Linda Imus Misagal.
Another set of outstanding tax payers were given recognition in terms of real property tax: J and F Department Store Inc., Trinidad Apostol, Aileen Combinido, Baudillo Jao, and Vevincio Lim.
The composer and lyricist of Magara Festival jingle, Rodolfo Parena and Neil Salarda were also honored during the event. (LIZBETH ANN A. ABELLA)