CARIGARA, Leyte –In view of the increase in the national equivalent road length, the Department of Public Works and Highways-Leyte Second District Engineering Office has been reclassified into a first-class district engineering office.
From 206.985 kilometers, the office now holds a total of 250.664 kilometers of national road length succeeding the inclusion of various road widening projects from two-lane to four-lane along Daang Maharlika, Palo-Carigara-Ormoc Road, Bagahupi-Babatngon- Sta. Cruz-Barugo-Carigara Road and Jaro-Dagami-Burauen-Lapaz Road.
“This is a good start for 2020, as we aim for more projects to serve the second district of Leyte,” said District Engineer Gerald Pacanan.
“It inspires us to do better as we continue with the “Build, Build, Build” program of the government and carry on with the road widening projects and other programs lined up for this year,” he added.
This is in pursuant to Item No.2 of Department Order No. 110, series of 2016 and approved through Department Order No. 147, series of 2019, reclassifying the office from second class to first class district engineering office.
The district engineering office holds 14 municipalities of the second district of Leyte that include Barugo, Burauen, Capoocan, Carigara, Dagami, Dulag, Jaro, Julita, La Paz, Mac Arthur, Mayorga, Pastrana, Tabon-Tabon, and Tunga.