The 2nd Leyte District Engineering Office has a new office located in MacAthur, transferring from its previous location in Carigara. The office is headed by Engr. Leo Edward Oppura.

TACLOBAN CITY – The Leyte Second District Engineering Office (L2DEO) of the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has moved to its new office.
From its previous office in Carigara for many years, the district now hold office in MacArthur town.

“We would like to inform the public, especially the stakeholders of the second district of Leyte, that all transactions and operations of L2DEO are now in the new office location in Mac Arthur, Leyte,” said District Engineer Leo Edward Oppura.

L2DEO caters to the 14 municipalities of the second congressional district of the province, namely: Pastrana, Tabontabon, La Paz, Julita, Burauen, Dagami, Jaro, and Tunga that straddle the midsection of the province of Leyte, then Dulag, Mayorga, and Mac Arthur on the coastlines of Leyte Gulf, while Barugo, Carigara, and Capoocan hug the shoreline of Carigara Bay.

“The district office will always stay true to its commitment to providing infrastructure facilities and services to meet the needs of the people. And, as frontliners during calamities, our services will always be guaranteed at all costs to ease the burden on the communities,” Oppura added.

Oppura also challenge his fellow workers in the district to perform well or better especially that they are in their new office.

The Leyte 2nd DEO was created by virtue of Department Order No. 10 dated January 20, 1997, composed of detailed budgetary employees from the Leyte 1st, Leyte 5th, and Regional Offices.

Leyte 2nd DEO maintain a national equivalent road length of 206.985 kilometers, of which 93.848 kilometers were concreted and 110.554 kilometers were asphalted, and 55 bridges with a total length of 2.583 kilometers.

Furthermore, for consistently providing quality service standards to the general public, the district office was granted ISO 9001:2015 certification in April 2015. And was reclassified from a 2nd class to a 1st class engineering office by virtue of Department Order No. 17, Series of 2019, dated December 17, 2019.

The total construction cost of the building amounted to P52 million.