TACLOBAN CITY-The Department of Health (DOH) and the Tingog party-list turned over 22 ambulance units to various local government units in Eastern Visayas on March 6.
The distribution was graced by Usec. Gloria Balboa, Regional Director Exuperia Sabalberino, mayors of the recipients’ local governments as well as representatives from the Tingog party-list, municipal health officers, and public health nurses.

Among the recipients of the ambulance were Caibiran in Biliran province, the towns of Maydolong, San Julian, and Oras in Eastern Samar province; and San Roque and Bobon in Northern Samar province.

The city of Tacloban, and towns of Burauen, Dagami, La Paz, Macarthur, Calubian, Isabel, and San Miguel in Leyte province; Tarangan, Paranas, Sta. Rita and Matuguinao, all in Samar; and the city of Maasin, and towns of Anahawan, Liloan, and Malitbog in Southern Leyte.

The ambulances are funded under the Health Facility Enhancement Program of the health agency which aims to provide access to better health services for residents in the region.
Caibiran Mayor Rhodessa Delante-Revita, whose town is the only recipient from the province of Biliran, was thankful to the help of the DOH and to the Tingog party-list for their commitment to the delivery of better health services to the community.

Isabel Mayor Edgardo Cordeňo was also thankful to the health agency adding that their new ambulance will greatly help their town in disaster response preparedness and ensure safe delivery and readiness during an emergency.

Maasin City Mayor Nacional Mercado was also grateful to the DOH, including to the Tingog party-list and House Speaker Martin Romualdez, saying it will be helpful in assisting the needs of the patients since it is complete with medical equipment necessary to save lives while transporting a patient to a health facility.