CATBALOGAN CITY – In celebration of the 120th Philippine Independence Day Celebration this June 12, the city government here has lined up several activities which started with a clean-up drive dubbed as “Pintakasi para kan Pepe” held on Monday (May 28).
“The Pintakasi para kan Pepe involved repainting of the Rizal Monument and cleaning of the city plaza as part of the city’s preparation for the Independence Day,” Ador Hurtado, city tourism, culture, arts and information chief, said.
Catbalogan City has a unique Rizal Monument erected at the city plaza and sculpted by a local artist Miguel Alcazar.
The Rizal monument has a bust of the national hero on top of his two famous novel, ‘Noli Me Tangere’ and ‘El Filibusterismo’ being lifted by three naked men.
The city government also conducted a simultaneous display of the Philippine Flag and encouraged the residents to do the same until the celebration of Independence Day on June 12.
Displaying of flag from May 28 to June 12 is mandated under Presidential Proclamation No. 374 signed on March 6, 1965 to celebrate the victory of Philippine Revolutionary Army against Spanish forces in the Battle of Alapan, in Imus, Cavite where troops led by General Emilio Aguinaldo recaptured the province of Cavite.
Hurtado said that aside from the pintakasi, the city government also organized a contest for its residents particularly the youth to rekindle the reason why the country is celebrating its independence.
The contest includes postcard-making contest dubbed as “Mga Hulagway ngan Siday tikang ha Catbalogan: A Literary Postcard-making Contest about Jose Rizal and the Philippine Independence” and the short video-making contest dubbed as “Katiglugaring: Vlogging Independence in 120 seconds” anchored on this year’s theme “Kalayaan 2018: Pagbabagong Ipinaglaban, Alay sa Masaganang Kinabukasan” for amateur vlogger and videographers.
The contest will also honor national hero Jose Rizal on his 157th birth anniversary on June 19.
Postcard-making contest has three category-division A (7-12 years old), division B (13-16 years old), and division C (17-21 years old).
Submission of entry is until June 10 at the City Tourism, Culture, Arts and Information Office.