TACLOBAN CITY– About 736 farmers from different municipalities in Northern Samar received cash assistance from the government sourced from the rice tarrification law.
Each of the farmers received P5,000 who were from the municipalities of Biri, Capul, Lavezares, lope de Vega, San Isidro, San Jose, Victoria, Catubig, Gabay, Las Navas, and Palapag.

It was learned from Francis Rosaroso, head of the regional roll-out committee of the Department of Agriculture (DA), that the 736 farmer-beneficiaries were part of the original target of 1,132 for the province on that day.

However, due to some reasons, they were not able to attend the cash assistance distribution held last October 6 at the provincial capital of Catarman.

Rosaroso said that those who failed to get their P5,000 cash assistance could still receive it pending their announcement on the next rollout in Northern Samar.

It was learned from him that the Northern Samar cash distribution for farmers is the first such rollout for farmers in Eastern Visayas for this year.

They target to provide the cash assistance to 103,000 farmers across the region with a total amount to be distributed of P532 million.

The cash assistance was sourced from the implementation of the rice tarrification law. Entitled to receive the assistance are farmers tilling land of two hectares and are registered at the Registry System for Basic Sectors in Agriculture (RSBSA) which mostly come from the local government units.

Rosaroso said that the amount received by the farmers is intended for them to buy input materials like fertilizers for them to help improve their production and at the same time, help them during this time of pandemic.