TACLOBAN CITY– Five alleged members of the communist group, the New People’s Army (NPA) voluntarily surrendered to the police within a span of two days.

The surrendered individuals, formerly associated with the armed group of Communist Party of the Philippines were identified as follows: “Mariz” (alias “Mariz”), a member of Bugsok Platoon; “Raul” and “Jaymark” (alias “Jaymark”), both associated with the Militia Units of Sandro Platoon; “Ka Jack” (alias), another member of a Militia Unit; and “Lando” (alias), affiliated with Buhawi Platoon.

Negotiations facilitated the successful surrender of these rebels, with the collaborative efforts of various law enforcement units, including the 802nd Maneuver Company and 805th Maneuver Company of the Regional Mobile Force Battalion 8, the Area Police Command-Visayas, Calbiga Municipal Police Station, 1st and 2nd Samar Provincial Mobile Force Company of Samar Police Provincial Office, Regional Intelligence Unit 8, 1st Leyte Provincial Mobile Force Company, Provincial Intelligence Unit of the Leyte Police Provincial Office, and Baybay City Police Station.

The surrendered individuals will undergo processing and documentation in custody of different camps or stations, for them to avail benefits under the government’s Enchanted Comprehensive Local Integration Program (E-CLIP).

E-CLIP serves as a pathway for former members of the Communist Terrorist Group to reintegrate into society, fostering peace within their families and communities.

This initiative aims to facilitate positive life transformations for those seeking a fresh start.
The law enforcement authorities in Eastern Visayas encourage individuals to embrace the opportunity for a better future, urging them not to hesitate to seek assistance from relevant authorities or stations.